

December 16, 2024

511090

Mayor Megan Knight City of White Rock mknight@whiterockcity.ca

Dear Mayor Knight:

Please consider this a formal invitation to participate in the sixth annual consultation on the speculation and vacancy tax (SVT). Housing affordability remains a critically important issue for the province and this consultation is an opportunity to share your views on how the SVT is working in your community.

Data for the 2023 tax year shows that the SVT has been working as intended in the current SVT specified areas. More than 99 per cent of British Columbians continue to be exempt from the tax and approximately 67 per cent of the tax revenue is coming from foreign owners, untaxed worldwide earners and Canadians living outside BC.

In accordance with our commitment to further strengthen the SVT, we implemented the tax in the 13 new municipalities for 2024, with declarations starting in 2025: City of Vernon, District of Coldstream, City of Penticton, District of Summerland, District of Lake Country, District of Peachland, City of Courtenay, Town of Comox, Village of Cumberland, City of Parksville, Town of Qualicum Beach, City of Salmon Arm, and City of Kamloops.

I am asking mayors of these expansion communities to participate in the consultation process for the first time this year.

The goal of the consultation is to hear about any concerns you may have or any feedback you may have received from residents. I encourage you to review the attached SVT technical briefing and detailed data and provide written feedback by January 31, 2025, to <a href="mailto:FIN.Minister@gov.bc.ca">FIN.Minister@gov.bc.ca</a>.

.../2

Facsimile: 250 387-5594

Parliament Buildings, Victoria website: www.gov.bc.ca/fin

501 Belleville Street

Location:

Your valuable input will assist in evaluating the SVT to ensure it continues to meet the needs of British Columbians.

I hope you find this year's review valuable, and I look forward to hearing your thoughts on the SVT and its impact in your community.

Sincerely,

Brenda Bailey Minister

Enclosures